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SECRETARY OF STATE | STATE OF CALIFORNIA

Summary of
Qualifications and Requirements for the Offices of

GOVERNOR AND LIEUTENANT GOVERNOR
June 2, 2026, Statewide Direct Primary Election

I. QUALIFICATIONS

Every candidate shall:
A. Be a U.S. citizen. Cal. Const., art. V, §§ 21, 9

B. Be a registered voter and otherwise qualified to vote for that office at the time that
nomination papers are issued to the person. § 2012

C. Not have been convicted of a felony involving accepting or giving, or offering to give, any
bribe, the embezzlement of public money, extortion or theft of public money, perjury, or
conspiracy to commit any of those crimes. § 20

D. Not have served two terms in the office. Cal. Const., art. V, §§ 2, 11

E. [For Governor only] File with the Secretary of State two (2) copies of every income tax
return the candidate filed with the Internal Revenue Service (IRS) in the five (5) most

recent taxable years, one unredacted copy and another copy with required redactions.
§§ 8902, 8903

II. REQUIREMENTS

A. CAMPAIGN FILINGS AND RESPONSIBILITIES
Any individual who intends to be a candidate for an elective state office shall:

1. Candidate Intention Statement

File with the Secretary of State’s Political Reform Division a Candidate Intention
Statement (Form 501) for the specific state office sought. A separate Form 501 must
be filed for each election, including re-election to the same office. This statement shall
be signed under penalty of perjury and filed prior to the solicitation or receipt of any

! Article V, section 2 of the California Constitution requires California residency for five years; however, it is the legal opinion of this office that
this provision violates the U.S. Constitution and is unenforceable.
2 All code section references are to the California Elections Code unless stated otherwise.
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contribution or loan, including expenditures made from personal funds used for
campaign purposes. Gov. Code § 85200

Campaign Contribution Account

a.

A Statement of Organization—Recipient Committee (Form 410) shall be filed with
the Secretary of State’s Political Reform Division within 10 days of receiving
$2,000 or more in a calendar year. Gov. Code §§ 82013(a), 84101

Establish one campaign contribution account at an office of a financial institution
located in California after filing the Candidate Intention Statement.
Gov. Code § 85201(a)

All contributions or loans made to the candidate, to a person on behalf of the
candidate, or to the candidate’s controlled committee shall be deposited in the
account. Gov. Code § 85201(c)

Any personal funds, which will be used to promote the election of the candidate,
shall be deposited in the account prior to expenditure. Gov. Code § 85201(d)

All campaign expenditures shall be made from the account.
Gov. Code § 85201(e)

3. Exceptions

a.

Parts 1 and 2(d) and (e), above, do not apply to a candidate's payment of a filing
fee and statement of qualifications fee from their personal funds.
Gov. Code §§ 85200, 85201(f)

Part 2, above, does not apply if the candidate does not receive contributions and
makes campaign expenditures from personal funds of less than $2,000 in a calendar
year, excluding payment of the filing fee and statement of qualifications fee.

Gov. Code § 85201(g)

An individual who raises contributions from others for their campaign, but who
raises or spends less than $2,000 in a calendar year, shall establish a campaign
contribution account but is not required to file a Statement of Organization or other
statement of bank account information. Gov. Code § 85201(h)

B. FILING FEES

1.

Full Payment of Filing Fee

A candidate must pay a filing fee equal to 2% of the first year's salary as of the first day
on which a candidate may circulate petitions in lieu of filing fees, made payable to the
Secretary of State. Currently, the filing fee for Governor is $4,918.58, and the filing
fee for Lieutenant Governor is $3,688.94. The filing fee must be paid to the county
elections official at the time the candidate obtains their Declaration of Candidacy and
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nomination papers from the county elections official of the candidate’s county of
residence. §§ 8103(a)(1), 8105

2. Siegnatures In Lieu of Filing Fee

A candidate may choose to submit by February 4, 2026 (E-118), a minimum of 6,000
valid signatures on petitions in lieu of filing fees. §§ 8106(a)(3), 8106(b)(3), 8162(b)

a.

Petitions for in-lieu signatures may be obtained from the county elections official
and circulated between December 19, 2025 (E-165), and February 4, 2026 (E-118).
Sections of in-lieu-filing-fee petitions shall be filed with the county elections
official of the county in which the signers reside. §§ 8106(b), 8162

The candidate may submit signatures to cover all or any prorated portion of the
filing fee. § 8106(b)(3)

Any registered voter may sign an in-lieu-filing-fee petition for any candidate for
whom they are eligible to vote. § 8106(b)(1)

Circulators of in-lieu-filing-fee petitions must be 18 years of age or older.  § 102

Within 10 days after receipt of the petition, the county elections official shall notify
the candidate of any deficiency. The candidate shall then, at the time of obtaining
nomination forms, pay a pro rata portion of the filing fee to cover the deficiency.

§ 8106(b)(3)

Signatures in lieu of the filing fee may be counted toward the nomination sponsor
signature requirements. §§ 8061, 8106(d)

Signature In Lieu of Filing Fee Requirements
§§ 8106(a)(3), 8162(b)

Signatures In Lieu Value of Each
Candidates Filing Fee of Filing Fee Signature
All Governor $4,918.58 6,000 $0.819763333

Candidates (except
write-in candidates)

All Lieutenant $3,688.94 6,000 $0.614823333
Governor Candidates
(except write-in
candidates)

C. BALLOT DESIGNATIONS

1. Each candidate who submits a ballot designation shall file a completed ballot
designation worksheet that supports the use of that ballot designation by the candidate.
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The ballot designation worksheet shall be filed with the elections official at the same
time that the candidate files their declaration of candidacy. § 13107.3

2. The designation shall remain the same for all purposes of both primary and general
elections, unless the candidate, at least 98 days prior to the general election, requests in
writing a different designation which the candidate is entitled to use at the time of the
request. The written request must be accompanied by a ballot designation worksheet.

§ 13107(h)

D. FOR CANDIDATES FOR GOVERNOR —TAX RETURNS

1. By at least March 6, 2026 (E-88), a candidate shall:

a.

File, by 5:00 p.m. on March 6, 2026 (E-88), with the Secretary of State two (2)
copies of every income tax return the candidate filed with the Internal Revenue
Service (IRS) in the five (5) most recent taxable years, one unredacted copy and

another copy with required redactions, as specified in Elections Code section 8903.
§§ 8902, 8903

“Income tax return” means any tax or information return, declaration of estimated
tax, or claim for refund required by, or provided for or permitted under, the
provisions of the Internal Revenue Code, and that is filed on behalf of, or with
respect to any person, and any amendment or supplement thereto, including
supporting schedules, attachments, or lists that are supplemental to, or part of, the
return so filed. § 8901

NOTE:

“Income tax return” does not include transcripts from the Internal Revenue
Service nor accountant notes. § 8901

Only personal income tax returns are required; do not submit business tax
returns.

Submit the Income Tax Return Disclosure Consent and Acknowledgement Form
signed by the candidate granting the Secretary of State permission to publicly
release the redacted versions of the candidate’s income tax returns.

§§ 8902, 8903

If the candidate was not required to file an income tax return with the IRS for any
of the last five (5) most recent taxable years, the candidate must indicate that fact
on the Income Tax Return Disclosure Consent and Acknowledgement Form.

§ 8902

If the candidate has not filed an income tax return with the IRS for 2025, the
candidate shall submit a copy of the income tax return to the Secretary of State
within five (5) days of filing the return with the IRS. § 8902
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2. The candidate shall redact the income tax returns as follows:

It is the candidate’s responsibility to only redact the information identified below. It
is important to note that some of the information identified below may appear on every
page of the submitted income tax returns, including on the header or footer portion of
each page.

Information to Redact

Elections Code section 8903 states the following information must be redacted by
the candidate:

Social security numbers

Home address

Telephone number

Email address

Medical information

Bank account numbers and routing numbers

Internal Revenue Service personnel identification number (PIN)

Elections Code section 8903 states the following information may be redacted by the

candidate:
e Names of dependent minors
e Employer identification number
¢ Business address
e Preparer or accountant tax identification number, client number, address,

telephone number, and email address of paid tax return preparers or
accountants

Many pdf programs allow users to redact information from a pdf file. This includes
Adobe Acrobat software and other third-party software. Alternately, candidates may
print out a copy of an unredacted income tax return, and manually (with a pen or
marker) redact information pursuant to Elections Code section 8903.

3. Pursuant to Elections Code section 8903, the required tax returns and Income Tax
Return Disclosure Consent and Acknowledgement Form shall be filed with the
Secretary of State by March 6, 2026 (E-88) by 5:00 p.m. PST as follows:

a. In Person/Courier Service:

Secretary of State's Office
1500 11th Street
Sacramento, California 95814

Elections Division drop box located in Ist floor lobby
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Building hours: Monday through Friday, 8:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m.

In-person filings will NOT be accepted in the Secretary of State’s Los
Angeles office.

b. Express Delivery/Mail:

Secretary of State's Office
Elections Division

1500 11th Street, 5th Floor
Sacramento, California 95814

NOTE: Income tax returns sent by express delivery or mail must be received by

March 6, 2026 (E-88) by 5:00 p.m. PST. Secretary of State will not consider shipping
or postmark dates as timely filed. Income tax returns documents must be at the
Secretary of State’s Office by the deadline. § 8903

The Secretary of State shall review the redacted copy of each tax return submitted by
the candidate to ensure that the redactions comply with Elections Code section 8903(a).
If the Secretary of State determines that the candidate has redacted information other
than that permitted by subdivision (a) or failed to redact information required to be
redacted by subdivision (a), the Secretary of State shall notify the candidate of any
deficiencies. The candidate shall submit corrected hard copies of the tax return no later
than 5:00 p.m. on March 16, 2026 (E-78). If the corrected hard copies are not timely
submitted, the candidate shall not be qualified to have their name placed on the ballot
of the election. § 8903

The Secretary of State shall make the redacted versions of the candidate’s income tax
returns available to the public on the Secretary of State’s internet website. These
redacted versions of the candidate’s income tax returns shall be continuously posted
until the official canvass for the election is completed. The income tax returns of a
candidate who participated in the primary election but was not nominated to participate
in the general election will only be posted until the official canvass for the primary
election is completed. § 8903

E. STATEMENT OF ECONOMIC INTERESTS

1.

Each candidate must file a Statement of Economic Interests electronically with the Fair
Political Practices Commission disclosing investments, interests in real property, and
any income received during the immediately preceding 12 months pursuant to the
requirements of the Political Reform Act of 1974, As Amended.

Gov. Code §§ 87200, 87201, 87500(a)

This statement is to be filed between February 9, 2026 (E-113) and March 6, 2026
(E-88). It is not required if the candidate has filed such statements within the past 60
days for the same jurisdiction. Gov. Code § 87201
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F. FOR ALL CANDIDATES (EXCEPT WRITE-IN CANDIDATES)

1. Between February 9, 2026 (E-113), and March 6, 2026 (E-88), obtain nomination
documents from the county elections official of the candidate’s county of residence.
Nomination documents include nomination papers for collecting signatures and a
Declaration of Candidacy that must be executed by the candidate.

§§ 333, 8020, 8040, 8041

2. Nomination Papers

a.

Gather between 65 and 100 signatures for filing the nomination papers.
§ 8062(a)(1)

Signatures on the in-lieu-filing-fee petitions may satisfy this signature requirement.
§§ 8061, 8106(d)

Any candidate may obtain signatures for and sign their own nomination papers.
§ 106(a)

All signers must be registered California voters. §§ 100, 8068

The candidate may appoint persons to circulate the nomination papers. Circulators
must be 18 years of age or older. §§ 102, 8066

Between February 9, 2026 (E-113), and March 6, 2026 (E-88), each section of the
nomination paper shall be delivered to the county elections official of the county in
which the signer resides and is a voter. §§ 8020, 8063

3. Declaration of Candidacy

a.

b.

The Declaration of Candidacy shall be obtained from, and delivered to, the county
elections official of the county in which the candidate resides and is a voter.
§§ 8040, 8064

Upon request of a candidate, the county elections official shall provide the
candidate with a Declaration of Candidacy. The county elections official shall not
require a candidate to sign, file, or sign and file a Declaration of Candidacy as a
condition of receiving nomination papers. § 8020(d)

The county elections official shall require all candidates filing a Declaration of
Candidacy to execute the declaration in their office unless the candidate, in a
written statement signed and dated by the candidate, designates a third party to
obtain the declaration form from the county elections official and to deliver it to the
candidate. The written statement shall state that the candidate is aware that the
Declaration of Candidacy must be properly executed and delivered not later than
5:00 p.m. on March 6, 2026 (E-88), to the office of the county elections official
from whom it was received. Any person may return the completed Declaration of

Candidacy. § 8028
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4. If the eligible incumbent fails to file the nomination documents by 5:00 p.m. on

March 6, 2026 (E-88), any other person, if otherwise qualified, may obtain and file the
nomination documents by 5:00 p.m. on March 11, 2026 (E-83). §§ 8020, 8022

If a candidate has declared a candidacy for a voter-nominated office at the primary
election and that candidate dies after March 6, 2026 (E-88), but on or before

March 11, 2026 (E-83), any person otherwise qualified may circulate and deliver
nomination documents for the nomination for that office to the county elections official
by 5:00 p.m. on March 20, 2026 (E-74). § 8025

G. FOR WRITE-IN CANDIDATES ONLY AND ONLY FOR THE PRIMARY ELECTION

1.

Filing Fees

Write-in candidates are not required to pay filing fees. § 8604

Nomination Papers

a. Gather between 65 and 100 signatures for filing the nomination papers.
§§ 8062(a)(1), 8600

b. The candidate may appoint persons to circulate the nomination papers. Circulators
must be 18 years of age or older. §§ 102, 8066

c. All signers must be registered California voters. §§ 100, 8603

d. Between April 6, 2026 (E-57), and May 19, 2026 (E-14), circulate nomination
papers for signatures and leave them for examination with the county elections
official of the county in which the signers reside. § 8601

Statement of Write-In Candidacy

a. Between April 6,2026 (E-57), and May 19, 2026 (E-14), file a Statement of Write-
In Candidacy with the county elections official of the candidate’s county of
residence. § 8601

b. The Statement of Write-In Candidacy shall contain the following information:

1. Candidate’s name,
ii. Candidate’s complete residence address,
iii. A declaration stating that the candidate is a write-in candidate,
iv. The name of the office for which the candidate is running,
v. The date of the election, and
vi. Candidate’s 10-year political party preference history. § 8600
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4. Write-in candidates can only run in the primary election. In order to be nominated to
appear on the general election ballot, the write-in candidate must receive the highest
number of votes cast for these offices or the second highest number of votes cast for
these offices at the primary election, unless there is a tie.

§§ 8142, 8600(c), 8605, 8606

III. GENERAL INFORMATION

A. Each of the forms mentioned above is available free of charge from the county elections
official. § 8101

B. The terms of office for Governor and Lieutenant Governor are four years, beginning on
January 4, 2027. Cal. Const., art V, §§ 2, 11

C. Because of the requirements of the Political Reform Act, As Amended, a candidate
should visit the website of the Fair Political Practices Commission at www.fppc.ca.gov
for the most recent copy of the Information Manual on Campaign Disclosure Provisions
of the Political Reform Act, which gives the filing requirements for reporting campaign
contributions, etc.

IMPORTANT NOTICE

This information sheet of candidate qualifications and procedures is for general information only and does
not have the force and effect of law, regulation, or rule. In case of conflict, the law, regulation, or rule will
apply. The candidate should obtain the most up-to-date information available because of possible changes
in law.
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